Nine Essential Books to Read If You Love the Royals | theSkimm

Nine Essential Books to Read If You Love the Royals

Published on: Jul 16, 2020fb-roundtwitter-roundemail-round
Nine Essential Books to Read If You Love the Royals

Spill the tea with these royal reads. Whether you love “The Crown,” are a loyal follower of Meghan Markle’s every move, or just a fan of royal weddings and fascinators, this list has something for you—fiction and nonfiction included. Cheerio.

For your friend who woke up at 5am to watch the royal wedding…

“The Royal We” and “The Heir Affair” by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan
“The Royal We” and “The Heir Affair” by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan

Say hi to this series. These books, from the duo known as the Fug Girls, are the fictional-ish version of Will and Kate’s love story. There’s Nick, a future heir to the throne, and Rebecca “Bex” Porter—a commoner—who marries into the royal family. Their courtship doesn’t come without drama (read: a love triangle with Nick’s brother, Prince Freddie) and a host of other royal scandals. (Amazon, Bookshop.org)

Read

For when you have a Meghan Markle Google alert...

“Finding Freedom” by Omid Scobie and Carolyn Durand
“Finding Freedom” by Omid Scobie and Carolyn Durand

Breaking news: this book's for you. This buzzy biography comes from Omid Scobie, the popular Harper’s Bazaar royal editor, and Carolyn Durand, a longtime Elle royal correspondent. They reportedly had access to the inner circle of the Duke and Duchess of Sussex and are promising an “honest, and up-close” look at the couple. Add it to your cart to separate royal fact from fiction. (Amazon, Bookshop.org)

Read

For when you’re not over that “Spencer” casting news...

“Diana” by Andrew Morton
“Diana” by Andrew Morton

Get the real story of Princess Diana. Published five years before her tragic death, this explosive biography shed light on her unhappy marriage to Prince Charles, her suicide attempts, and her struggle with bulimia. Both Diana and Morton denied her being a source for the book, but after her death in 1997, he finally confirmed her heavy involvement with the project. RIP to the “people’s princess.” (Amazon, Bookshop.org)

Read

For when “London Boy” is your fave Taylor Swift song...

“Royal Holiday” by Jasmine Guillory
“Royal Holiday” by Jasmine Guillory

Relatable. This 2019 fictional rom-com follows a 50-something woman who accompanies her daughter on a work trip to the UK. While her daughter is busy styling the royal family, she falls for a private British secretary. It’s “New Year’s Eve” meets “The Holiday,” and will have you singing “darling, I fancy you.” (Amazon, Bookshop.org)

Read

For when Helena Bonham Carter is your favorite part of “The Crown”...

“Ninety-Nine Glimpses of Princess Margaret” by Craig Brown
“Ninety-Nine Glimpses of Princess Margaret” by Craig Brown

Get to know the real Margaret. Brown’s book explores the younger sister of Queen Elizabeth, and examines the colorful life of the princess who never got to rule the throne. It’s filled with delicious details about her preferences (she hates the phrase scrambled eggs; they’re buttered eggs to her), her messy love life (an affair, divorce, Picasso wanting to marry her, NBD), and so much more. (Amazon, Bookshop.org)

Read

For when you’ve watched “Hamilton" too many times...

"American Royals" by Katharine McGee
"American Royals" by Katharine McGee

Imagine if America were a monarchy. Now, imagine no more. Because this book gives you an alternate universe in which George Washington was given a crown after the Revolutionary War. More than two centuries later, the House of Washington still rules with forbidden love and “Gossip Girl”-esque drama included. Oh and...the sequel, “American Royals II: Majesty” is coming this September. (Amazon, Bookshop.org)

Read

For your friend who's a Claire Foy stan...

“Elizabeth the Queen” by Sally Bedell Smith
“Elizabeth the Queen” by Sally Bedell Smith

There’s more to the Queen than what you see on Netflix. Smith, an esteemed biographer who’s also written about the Kennedys, the Clintons, and Prince Charles, goes deep inside the castle of Buckingham Palace. The book explores Lilibet, from her childhood as a princess, to her life with Philip, and their children. It’s a revealing portrait of the longest-serving monarch in British history. Cheers to her. (Amazon, Bookshop.org)

Read

For when “You’ve Got Mail” is your favorite movie…

“A Princess in Theory” by Alyssa Cole
“A Princess in Theory” by Alyssa Cole

You’ve got an email-forward rom-com. In this novel, an epidemiology Ph.D. student in NY keeps getting emails claiming she’s betrothed to an African prince. She thinks it’s spam. Turns out… it’s not. No spoilers on how their love story turns out but let’s just say we’re royally obsessed. (Amazon, Bookshop.org)

Read

For when you double tap every Gary Janetti post on Insta...

"Red, White & Royal Blue" by Casey McQuiston
"Red, White & Royal Blue" by Casey McQuiston

Nothing but love. In this one, the son of the first female president in the US goes to the UK to attend a royal wedding. The Prince of Wales is there. And spoiler: the "special friendship" between the US and the UK becomes a littttttle more like a special friendship with benefits. Snog on. (Amazon, Bookshop.org)

Read

PS: These are editorially selected, but if you purchase, theSkimm may get something in return. Thanks.

Skimm'd by: Lindsay Schneider and Avery Carpenter Forrey


live smarter.

Sign up for the Daily Skimm email newsletter.

Delivered to your inbox every morning and prepares you for your day in minutes.